Homemade can organizers… upcycling too….

I have been looking for ways to organize my pantry for a while. I have tried a few things. When you stockpile you NEED a way to organize… it can easily turn into a hot mess if you don’t! However, we go back to the little issue called… “I can’t get that awesome organizer right now because the kids need this… or we have to get “that” for the house… or I need to buy this for that… or a bill is due…” You get my point. I needed to figure out other ways. Boxes are easy, of course! But the cans! Oh the cans! I’ve separated them into boxes before and tried to stack them up, etc. It works, but still. I think I just really wanted one of those awesome looking organizers you see on the couponing shows.

Anyway, I decided that I was going to need to find a way to be creative and do something myself that I liked (and works of course.) OK, let’s get something out-of-the-way first… for those who are new to the blog and might not know… I am addicted to soda. I AM trying to cut it down, I KNOW it’s not good for me, but for the time being… I’m still struggling. With that said, I realized I had the answer all along and didn’t see it till then! I had 2 boxes of sodas that I keep and just pop open the bottom so they roll out. See! I could just use that for the cans! Score!

So, instead of throwing those boxes out, I covered them up and voila! I had a box of a 12 pack of drinks for the girls, which I had set up the same way… open up so the can just roll.  How did I never see that I all I needed was to keep those boxes! Anyway, I will be finishing up the wrapping up of all my boxes and go from there. In the meantime, here’s a sneak peek to the start of my pantry being re-organized. 🙂

Ummm, yes, those were 24 can boxes. :-> It’s honestly kind of embarrassing, but I have openly admitted, I am addicted… working on it. Trust me, I’ve already cut down. OK, back to this little pantry….

I also started to use an idea I saw on Pinterest… I added a shoe organizer where I am slowly organizing some of the smaller, and odd-shaped items… AND having some of the pockets at the bottoms hold some of the items we keep for snacks for the girls.

OK, so there, this is the other stuff I’m TRYING to work on… when I get a little free time. 🙂 So, if you want some can organizers, and you purchase any sort of canned drinks in boxes… keep the box… cover it up and you’re set. 🙂 Thrifty little way to upcycle these boxes, huh? 🙂

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cleaning and Organizing, Couponing/Thrifty, Housekeeping

5 responses to “Homemade can organizers… upcycling too….

  1. good Ideas to organize the pantry. Some of your readers might enjoy reading a few conservation tips I have put together as follows…Energy Conservation

  2. cat

    you just saved me $24. plus shipping on can organizers. thanks for the cool idea, i need to reorganize this kitchen and isnt everybody on a budget now? oh, and we use one of those clear pocket over the doors for my sons art supplies and stuff 🙂

    • Awesome Cat! Def. always looking for ways to stretch $. 🙂 Thanks for visiting the blog and I hope to see you around or on the blog’s FB page again. 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

  3. Cindy

    I completely love this idea….i HATE to go into the cupboard and have to dig to the back of the cabinet to make sure i am getting the oldest out first. AND i detest NOT having all the like items in lines/order. My husband just puts everything canned into one cabinet in no order at all. just a mishmash of cans so you have to dig through everything to find what you’re looking for. I am going to find PLENTY of these and fix this immediately! that’s about the only thing i’m really OCD about, but it just drives me crazy!!!! thanks so much for sharing this wonderful idea! I’d been really trying to devise a way of doing this myself, but had no luck….thanks a million again!!~cindy 🙂

    • I’m so glad you found it useful. 🙂 It might even help keep more harmony at home… that way your husband can help put groceries away and just put it in the right organizer. 😉 It really does help us around here AND it’s the most economical way I’ve found to do it. They sell the can organizers out there, but it’s so much more expensive and this way we’re upcycling and reusing. 🙂 Let us know how it works out for you. Hope you find other ideas that might help you out. 🙂

      -Gigi

Leave a Reply

