FREE: Simple 5 Paragraph Book Review or Report Outline Form

I have been meaning to put this on here for a good while. I thought I would share a form I created for my daughters to use when doing a simple book review (report). This is a basic outline form. You can choose how they use it. For kids just starting out, I would just let them get used to the form and turning that in. After a bit, and once they have grasped how to gather their thoughts to concise ideas on the form, you can start to help them move towards formatting paragraphs out of the outline. Eventually, this form can be used to write a 5 paragraph simple book review after a child has read a book.

You can use this to motive kids to read. For every book they read and turn in a review/report (form or essay, whatever you choose) they can earn whatever you decide the “currency” to be. Or you can just make it something required for them to do, of course. I feel that using forms like this helps my girls understand the formats and set ups of essays, etc.

As with other forms, I just ask that you please DO NOT remove my web site address from the bottom of the pages and link back if you choose to share this information. 🙂  Feel free to pin it for others to find as well!

You will need Adobe to open the .pdf file.

HS-Simple book review outline

6 Comments

Filed under children, FREE Printables, Homeschooling, Main, Trying to Balance

6 responses to “FREE: Simple 5 Paragraph Book Review or Report Outline Form

  1. Jane

    Thank you for sharing the outline prompting form. As my fifth graders learn about creating outlines, this is an excellent way to help them understand how to categorize their notes.

    • I’m SO excited you’ll be able to use it Jane! Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and comment. I hope to be able to share more in the future that you might be able to use. 🙂

      Gigi

  2. Anna

    Thanks for sharing, this is exactly what I have been looking for.
    Many blessings,
    Anna

Leave a comment